What counts as "low sugar" on a protein shake label?
"Low sugar" is not a marketing phrase in Australia; it is a nutrition content claim with a measured threshold set by FSANZ Food Standards Code Standard 1.2.7. For a drink, the condition is no more than 2.5g sugars per 100mL. For a solid food, it is no more than 5g sugars per 100g. Section 1.2.7-7(c) says the threshold is assessed on the food in the form it is consumed, so a powder shake is measured as the prepared drink.
That matters because a sachet can read very differently once water or milk goes in. A powder sitting at 2g sugars inside 55g might fail the solid-food threshold on paper, yet comfortably clear the liquid threshold once shaken into 250 to 300mL.
Our 55g HLTH+ Women's Vanilla sachet is a worked example. The verified panel lists 1.5g sugars per serve. Prepared with 300mL of water, that is roughly 0.5g sugars per 100mL, well under the 2.5g/100mL conditions in Schedule 4. The buying question becomes: does this product clear the Code's threshold once prepared, and once that is settled, what else is on the label.
How do popular Australian protein shakes compare for sugar?
The table below reads five Australian powders beside HLTH+ Women's Vanilla, using the brand's own published panel for each row. Powders are measured per labelled serving before any added milk or fruit, which is where the comparison belongs: the pack is what you buy, and preparation choices change the finished drink. Values describe the stated serving.
Everyday Formulated Supplementary Food, not a meal replacement.
The HLTH+ Women's sachet carries 30g protein, 7g of dietary fibre, a balanced multivitamin profile, and 1.5g sugars. See the HLTH+ Women's Starter Kit for the sachet details and daily use.
| Shake, exact flavour | Serving | Protein | Dietary fibre | Total sugars | Added sugar on label | Category |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HLTH+ Women's Vanilla | 55g sachet | 30g | 7g | 1.5g | No added sugar | Formulated Supplementary Food |
| HLTH+ Men's | 60 to 62g sachet | 30g | 7g | 1.7g | No added sugar | Formulated Supplementary Food |
| Man Shake Chocolate (The) | 56g | 30.9g | 7.4g | 1.9g (of which lactose 0.7g, galactose 0.4g) | Not stated as "no added sugar" on panel | FSANZ Standard 2.9.3 meal replacement |
| Lady Shake original Chocolate (The) | 56g | 30.2g | 6.4g | 2.2g (lactose and galactose present) | Not stated as "no added sugar" on panel | FSANZ Standard 2.9.3 meal replacement |
| Bulk Nutrients WPI, Chocolate flavour | 30g | 25.5g | not listed on panel | 0.4g | Not stated | Protein powder, not fortified |
| Deluxe Chocolate Macro Mike Premium Almond Protein | 40g | 23.7g | 4.6g | 3.1g | Not stated | Protein powder |
| Optifast VLCD, Chocolate flavour | 53g | 20g | 3.6g | 12.7g sugars, with 11.7g being lactose | Not stated | Formulated Meal Replacement, pharmacy VLCD |
Sources: HLTH+ approved product figures plus the verified Women's Vanilla panel; the Man Shake Chocolate NIP, re-read on this day; the Lady Shake Chocolate panel sourced from the ArcOS competitor-label library; Bulk Nutrients WPI Chocolate panel from the brand's own site, re-read on this day; Macro Mike Deluxe Chocolate from its published nutrition panel image; and the Optifast VLCD Chocolate panel from the brand's own product page. Retrieval dates and HTTP statuses are logged in the verify record for this article. Confirm each pack's current panel in store before buying; formulations do change.
Four of the seven rows sit at or near the Standard 1.2.7 liquid threshold once prepared. Optifast's VLCD Chocolate is the outlier at 12.7g per 53g, almost entirely lactose from a milk-powder base; the brand's VLCD programme is clinician-directed, not an everyday pick. Macro Mike's 3.1g per 40g almond-protein serve is 7.75g per 100g dry, but drops well under 2.5g per 100mL once mixed as directed.
Most of these panels do not carry an explicit "no added sugar" on-pack claim, so a low total-sugar number is not the same as a label statement about added sugar. The next section separates the two.
Does "low sugar" mean "no added sugar"?
No, and the two statements live on different parts of the label. The Nutrition Information Panel reports a single "Sugars" row that includes every sugar in the food, whether added by the manufacturer, naturally present in an ingredient like milk, or carried in a fruit powder. FSANZ explains the label panel and sets how the figures must be declared.
"No added sugar" is a separate nutrition content claim under Schedule 4. For a shake to carry it, the food must have no added sugars, no added honey, no added malt or malt extract, and no added concentrated or deionised fruit juice (there are listed beverage exceptions). The HLTH+ panel is formulated without added sugar; some competitor panels record total sugar in a similar range while still containing added ingredients.
A reader buying for a diabetes meal plan, a gestational-diabetes week or a reduced-sugar routine needs both numbers: the low-sugar check once prepared, the "no added sugar" statement read directly from the pack, and the ingredient list for sugars, honey, malt, concentrated fruit juice and sweeteners.
Several of these powders list stevia-based sweeteners or sucralose on their ingredient panels, so sweetener naming is a separate reading step from the sugar row. For a wider look at the category, see our best protein shakes in Australia roundup, which ranks on the overall label rather than one row.
Can people with diabetes drink protein shakes safely?
The right shake for someone with diabetes is the one their dietitian or GP agrees to, with the whole label, carbohydrate panel and preparation plan in front of them. Healthdirect's diabetes resources describe why individual carbohydrate load, timing and medicines all shape the answer.
Sugar is one row. The carbohydrate row above it is often more useful: starches plus sugars together are what the body raises blood glucose from. Dietary advice for someone with type 2 diabetes belongs with a clinician familiar with that person's medicines.
Three things to bring to that appointment:
- The exact pack and flavour, not a brand name alone.
- Whether the shake is made with water, milk, dairy-free milk or a smoothie base.
- The usual food day, especially the carbohydrate side of breakfast or afternoon tea.
Changing a medically agreed eating plan on the basis of a comparison article is not what this page is for.
Can you use a protein shake while taking a GLP-1 medication?
Protein shakes are food products, not treatments. Any medication choice stays a prescriber's call, no matter which shake is in the shaker. On a GLP-1 class medication, appetite is often smaller, meals are often smaller, and hitting protein and dietary fibre each day can take more planning than usual.
That is the simple nutrition case for considering a protein-and-fibre powder in a day that is otherwise light. The HLTH+ sachet sits as a Formulated Supplementary Food that supplements a diet where intake may be inadequate, not a replacement for meals or a way to manage a medication's effect. For a routine-level read, the ✦ Find My Formula quiz shows what your current routine is not giving you.
Keep the medication conversation with the prescriber. Keep the shake conversation to label facts and food planning.
What else should you check beyond the sugar number?
A sugar row that clears the Code's threshold still leaves the rest of the panel to read. Four things sit between a "low sugar" tick and a decision to buy.
Protein per serve. The Schedule 4 nutrition content claim about protein needs 5g or more per serve; a "good source of protein" claim needs 10g or more. HLTH+ carries 30g protein per serve, worded exactly as the Schedule 4 pre-approved claim allows: 30g protein contributes to the maintenance of muscle mass, as part of a healthy diet involving a variety of foods. Better Health Channel describes protein foods across animal and plant sources from dairy to fish, legumes and nuts.
Dietary fibre per serve. Standard 1.2.7's "excellent source of dietary fibre" needs 7g or more per serving. The HLTH+ panel is at that line, with 7g of dietary fibre per sachet. Bulk whey isolates do not usually list a fibre row; a protein shake and a dietary fibre routine are then two different buys.
Vitamins and minerals. HLTH+ is a Formulated Supplementary Food. The formula follows the Nutrient Reference Values set by the National Health and Medical Research Council, the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, and the New Zealand Ministry of Health. Each sachet carries its own per-SKU targets. Women's and Men's sachets suit the earlier adult life stage; a Women's 50+ sachet and a Men's 50+ sachet carry the later-life nutrient profile. The 30 essential daily nutrients wording describes the broader formulation. The vitamin claim on its own is a balanced multivitamin profile. Whey isolate powders carry neither.
Serving size and preparation. Compared servings run from 30g (whey isolate) to 63g (Optifast VLCD Protein Plus). A smaller serving with a lower sugar number is a different drink from a larger serving at a similar figure; compare only after reading each pack's directions.
Audience-matched: HLTH+ Men's.
The Men's sachet lists 30g protein, 7g dietary fibre and 1.7g sugars, 248 calories. See the HLTH+ Men's Starter Kit for the sachet details and daily use.
How is sugar listed on a protein shake panel, and what should you ignore?
Treat the panel's "Sugars" row as a total across every sugar in the food. The per-100g column lets you compare concentration across brands; the per-serving column tells you what one drink delivers. For a reconstituted-drink powder, calculate the per-100mL figure of the shaker-ready drink as well.
Three front-of-pack descriptors have conditions attached: "low sugar" needs the 2.5g per 100mL threshold once prepared, "no added sugar" needs the no-added-sugar inputs, and "diet" needs the energy difference against a reference food and must not imply slimming. Pass over the pack imagery and read the Code's three descriptors against the panel.
How does HLTH+ fit a daily low-sugar routine?
HLTH+ is not designed as a meal replacement because it complements a food-first approach. It works fine as a healthy snack or to tie you over. On the sugar side, 1.5g in Women's Vanilla and 1.7g in Men's puts both sachets inside the Code's "low sugar" conditions once prepared.
A powder is a tool for one serving, not a daily routine on its own. Learn more about everyday nutrition when eating less; the pattern that stays with you is the one you can repeat on an ordinary Tuesday.
Keep the match honest. Each sachet carries life-stage-specific nutrient targets built from Nutrient Reference Values set by the three bodies named earlier. A low-sugar sachet matched to the wrong life stage is still a weaker buy than a label-matched one. Hundreds of reviews across the range sit on the brand's own site; a review count is not a nutrient panel, and the comparison still lives in the panel.

Which low-sugar protein shake suits the role you want it to play?
The useful order is category, then label.
- For a meal replacement: the Man Shake and the Lady Shake both sit as Formulated Meal Replacements under Standard 2.9.3; each panel reads against the eating plan built around it. See the Lady Shake label review and the Man Shake label review.
- For a clinician-directed VLCD programme: Optifast is pharmacy-channel medical nutrition used under supervision, not a direct substitute for an everyday powder.
- For protein-only, with the rest of the day doing the work: a whey isolate like Bulk Nutrients WPI is close to zero on the sugar row with no fibre on the panel. Our best protein shakes roundup reads whey, plant and Formulated Supplementary Food together.
- For an almond-based protein with some dietary fibre: the Macro Mike Premium Almond Protein panel declares 23.7g of protein per 40g serve, plus 4.6g of dietary fibre.
- For an everyday Formulated Supplementary Food with 30g protein, 7g of dietary fibre and 30 essential daily nutrients across the formulation, 1.5g sugar in the Women's Vanilla sachet and 1.7g in Men's: HLTH+. To match the formula to what your current routine is missing, the ✦ Find My Formula quiz shows what your current routine is not giving you.
The sugar row never decides a shake by itself. Pair it with protein, dietary fibre, vitamins and minerals and the role you want the drink to play, and the shortlist narrows faster than any front-of-pack claim will do it.
This article is general information, not medical advice. Decisions about any medication belong with your doctor.
Frequently Asked Questions
How is the "low sugar" threshold measured on a shake?
As the drink is prepared, not as the dry powder. Standard 1.2.7-7(c) says the condition applies to the food in the form consumed. The threshold is 2.5g sugars per 100mL of the prepared drink for a liquid food, so a sachet mixed with 250 to 300mL of water or milk is measured against that, not against the dry serving.
Does a protein shake with no added sugar always taste unsweetened?
No. Products without added sugar can still contain non-nutritive sweeteners that make the drink taste sweet, including stevia-based ingredients or sucralose. The ingredient list, not the sugars row, is where sweetener choice is declared. Read both lines together before deciding.
Is a lower sugar shake automatically a better choice?
Not on its own. A shake with less sugar may also carry less protein or no dietary fibre, or it may replace a meal rather than supplement one. Compare the serving size, protein, dietary fibre and the role you want the drink to play alongside the sugar number before deciding.
What sugar level does HLTH+ list on its sachets?
HLTH+ Women's Vanilla lists 1.5g of sugars per 55g sachet, and HLTH+ Men's lists 1.7g per 60 to 62g sachet. Both sachets are formulated with no added sugar. Prepared as directed with 300mL of water or milk, these per-serving amounts sit well under the Code's 2.5g per 100mL "low sugar" threshold.
Can a shake replace a reduced-sugar diet plan from a dietitian?
No. Any shake sits inside the plan the dietitian builds, not in place of it. Bring the exact flavour, serving directions, ingredient list and your usual food day to that appointment, and let the clinical plan decide the role the drink plays in your week.





Leave a comment
This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.